Lohr assumes California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance board helm

Lohr assumes California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance board helm

Newly elected California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance board of director officers include Chairman Steve Lohr, Vice-Chair Aaron Lange, Secretary Cheryl Murphy Durzy, and Treasurer Mike Boer.

The California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance (CSWA) has tapped three new board officers.

They include: Chairman Steve Lohr (J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines); Vice-Chair Aaron Lange (LangeTwins Family Winery & Vineyards); Secretary Cheryl Murphy Durzy (Clos LaChance Winery); and Treasurer Mike Boer (Stipp Ranch).

The officers’ terms are for one year and can be elected for an additional year.

The CSWA is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization incorporated in 2003 by the Wine Institute and the California Association of Winegrape Growers.


CSWA’s focus is to develop and promote sustainable wine grape practices, tools for education and outreach, partnerships with key stakeholders, and prioritizing wine grape research.

California, a world leader in sustainable winegrowing practices, has 2,000-plus wineries and vineyards in the CSWA program.

The CSWA is the recipient of the GEELA, the governor’s top environmental award for increasing adoption of sustainable winegrowing practices in California. In 2016, CSWA received the Green Award in the Sustainability Category from The Drinks Business magazine.

Wineries and vineyards around the state have taken an extra step by earning the Certified California Sustainable Winegrowing status verified by a third-party auditor through CSWA.

Certified California Sustainable Winegrowing and other statewide and regional programs play vital roles in the California wine industry’s successful efforts to produce high quality wine which is considered environmentally sound, economically feasible, and socially responsible.


Western Farm Press Daily – free agricultural news delivered to your Inbox.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.