desert durum wheat

Want to lead in California’s wheat industry?

The California Wheat Commission will conduct district elections in July and August for commissioner and alternate commissioner in three grower districts.  Return completed nomination petitions to the CWC by July 13. 

The California Wheat Commission (CWC) will conduct district elections in July and August for the positions of commissioner and alternate commissioner for three commission grower districts. 

The wheat grower districts include: District 1 – Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, and Trinity counties; District 4 – Alameda, Alpine, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne counties; and District 7 – Inyo, Kings, and Tulare counties.

To quality, the candidate is must be a California wheat grower producing grain for market in any of the last three marketing seasons, and reside or farm in the district.

Nomination petitions are available on the CWC website or by calling the commission at (530) 661-1292.

Check current commodity prices 

Completed nomination petitions must be returned by July 13, 2015. The term of office for commissioners and alternates is three years.

CWC commissioners help determine the group’s programs and budget priorities. The CWC is also active in several national organizations which allows commissioners to offer input into major industry issues.

For the latest on western agriculture, please check out Western Farm Press Daily and receive the latest news right to your inbox.

Wheat growers voted to establish the CWC in 1983 to develop and maintain domestic and international markets for California wheat and support research to improve California wheat quality and marketability.

Operated under the California Food and Agriculture Code, the CWC’s funding is from wheat grower assessments.

The CWC board includes nine wheat producers, two handlers, two at-large members, and one public member. Each position has an alternate.

TAGS: Marketing
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.