Wheat growers sought for California Wheat Commission board

The California Wheat Commission (CWC) is looking for wheat growers who would be interested in becoming board members for the grower-run organization. Involvement in the California Wheat Commission enables California producers to take a more active role in national wheat organizations and wheat policymaking bodies.

A qualified producer member or alternate is defined as any person who is engaged within California in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons, and who must reside or conduct farming operations in the district in which the election is to be held.

Wheat growers voted to establish the California Wheat Commission in 1983, expressly to develop and maintain domestic and international markets for California wheat and support research that improves California wheat quality and marketability.

The California Wheat Commission has its own in-house wheat quality laboratory which began operation in March of 1990. The CWC lab has become a major component in the international recognition of California as a source of premium wheat.

The Commission, operating under the California Food and Agriculture Code, is funded entirely by wheat growers and is guided by a board of fifteen wheat farmers and two handlers — each with an alternate member — and one public member.

Numerous alternate commissioner positions up and down the state are available at the Commission, as well as commissioner positions in districts covering 1) Fresno County, 2) Colusa and Lake counties, and 3) Siskiyou, Tehama, Lassen, Modoc, and Shasta counties.

CWC has three board meetings per year in March/April, August, and December/January. Travel expenses, including transportation, hotels and meals are covered by the Commission. Full terms are three years in length.

Each year five districts come up for reelection in August. Growers interested in vacant districts would fill out the rest of the current term for that district.

Interested individuals are encouraged to contact the California Wheat Commission at (530) 661-1292 to obtain a nomination petition.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.