Cotton Board new members appointed

Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman announced the appointment of several new members and alternate members of the Cotton Board, the organization that oversees the cotton check-off program.

The newly appointed members are producers John J. Baxter, Watson, Ark.; Harley Metcalfe III, Greenville, Miss.; and Henry A. McLaurin, Laurinburg, N.C., and importers William E. Donelan, Ramsey, N.J., and Gail W. Strickler, Brookfield, Conn.

New alternate members include: Ernest R. Arnold, Marked Tree, Ark.; Robert A. Gammill Jr., Tyronza, Ark.; Cynthia L. Gordan, Milton, Mass.; William C. Heaton, Clarksdale, Miss.; Edward T. Carmichael, Laurinburg, N.C.; Arthur K. Winget, III, Gastonia, N.C.; and Maureen E. Gray, New York, N.Y.

Veneman said Billie J. Collier, Knoxville, Tenn., will serve as a consumer adviser to the board.

The Cotton Board, which is headquartered in Memphis, Tenn., consists of 32 members, their alternates and one consumer adviser and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. Members of the board represent cotton producers, importers, and consumers.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve and provide their expertise to this program,” said Veneman.

The members, alternates, and consumer adviser named by Veneman on Dec. 5 will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2005. One importer alternate member term will end Dec. 31, 2004.

Re-appointed to the board were: Robert L. McGinnis, West Memphis, Ark.; John E. Pucheu Jr., Tranquillity, Calif.; Rodger C. Glaspey, Fresno, Calif.; Thomas A. Parker, Lake Providence, La.; and Ronnie N. Hopper, Petersburg, Texas.

The re-appointed alternate members: Steve Cantu, Tranquillity, Calif.; George G. LaCour Jr., Morganza, La.; David C. Cornelius, Crosbyton, Texas; and George R. Herron, Taylors, S.C.

e-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.