FFA winners: State Cotton Contest

Hanford FFA is the winner of the 52nd annual California FFA State Cotton Judging Contest. The contest was held on Nov. 7, 2009, at CSU Fresno.

Ten teams from McFarland to Atwater competed for this year’s title. Team members judged Pima lint, seed, bolls, plants, and took a general knowledge test of the California cotton industry. Members of the championship team included Jordan Avila, 3rd highest individual; Zack Beck; Dale Henry; and Elizabeth Gingles.

The victorious members continued a tradition of success in the Cotton Judging career development event. Since 1970 the Hanford FFA Cotton Judging teams have won 25 state titles. This year’s victory is the second in a row for the Hanford FFA.

The younger team members made up Hanford B teams Gold and Blue. The Hanford B team Gold won the B Team State Championship. This team was made up of 1st place Kelsey Escobar; 2nd place Maddy Wisecarver; 3rd place Katie LaBlue; and 5th place Liz Smith.

Hanford’s B team Blue was the 3rd highest team. Team Blue was made up of Claudia Flores, Matt Machado, Jordan Lee, and Timmy Metts.

“The teams really rose to the occasion and challenged each other to do their best” said coaches Sam Rodriguez and Brian Combes.

TAGS: Cotton
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.