Schafer announces Cotton Board members

Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer announced the appointment of 13 members, 13 alternates and 1 non-voting consumer advisor to the Cotton Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2009 and ending Dec. 31, 2011.

The re-appointed members are: Robert L. McGinnis, West Memphis, Ark.; John J. Baxter, Watson, Ark.; Aaron A. Barcellos, Los Banos, Calif.; Thomas A. Parker, Lake Providence, La.; Micajah P. Sturdivant, Jr., Itta Bena, Miss.; David M. Grant, Garysburg, N.C.; Barry W. Evans, Kress, Texas; David C. Cornelius, Crosbyton, Texas; Rodger C. Glaspey, Fresno, Calif.; David A. Levey, Mequon, Wis.; Gail W. Strickler, Brookfield, Conn.; Maureen E. Gray, New York, N.Y.; and Deborah M. Gregg, Irvine, Calif.

The re-appointed alternate members are: Earnest R. Arnold, Marked Tree, Ark.; Robert A. Gammill, Tyronza, Ark., Steve Cantu, Tranquility, Calif.; George G. LaCour, Jr., Morganza, La.; and Michael S. Hubbard, Gastonia, N.C.

The newly appointed alternate members are: Charles H. Flowers, Dublin, Miss.; Jerry L. Hamill, Enfield, N.C.; Tom M. Hegi, Petersburg, Texas; John R. Dunlap, Floydada, Texas; Henry M. Evans, Cheraw, S.C.; Courtney O'Keefe, Easton, Conn.; Flora J. Wong, Mercer Island, Wash.; and Rafael A. Hernandez, Highland Village, Texas.

The re-appointed consumer advisor is Billie J. Collier, Tallahassee, Fla.

The cotton research and promotion program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by assessments on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products, and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the program.

TAGS: Cotton
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.