Johanns names Cotton Board members

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has announced the appointment of 13 members, 12 alternate members and one consumer advisor to the Cotton Board, the organization that oversees the market promotion and research activities of the cotton industry.

The Cotton Board consists of 34 representatives of cotton producers and importers, their alternates and one consumer advisor. The members, alternates and consumer advisor named will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2008. One importer alternate member term will end Dec. 31, 2007.

The reappointed members are: Robert McGinnis, West Memphis, Ark.; Thomas Parker, Lake Providence, La.; John Baxter, Watson, Ark.; Harley Metcalfe, Greenville, Miss.; H. Allen McLaurin, Laurel Hill, N.C.; Rodger Glaspey, Fresno, Calif.; Gail Strickler, New York, N.Y.; and William Donelan, Ramsey, N.J.

The reappointed alternate members are: Ernest Arnold, Marked Tree, Ark.; Robert Gammill, Tyronza, Ark.; George LaCour, Morganza, La.; William Heaton, Lyon, Miss.; David C. Cornelius, Crosbyton, Texas; and George R. Herron, Taylors, S.C.

The newly appointed board members are: Steve Cantu, Tranquility, Calif.; Barry Evans, Kress, Texas; Maureen Gray, Lyndhurst, N.J.; Linda Tipton, Bentonville, Ark.; and William Sheely, Burlington, N.C.

The newly appointed alternate members are: Catherine Fanucchi, Bakersfield, Calif.; David Grant, Garysburg, N.C.; Michael Hubbard, Gastonia, N.C.; David Levey, Menomonee Falls, Wis.; Debi Gregg, Hunting Beach, Calif.; and Joseph Harris, Anaheim, Calif..

The re-appointed consumer advisor is Billie J. Collier, Knoxville, Tenn.

The cotton research and promotion program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by assessments on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the program.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.