New California ag leadership class selected

Twenty-five outstanding Californians in agriculture have been selected to participate in the 39th annual California Agricultural Leadership Program (CALP).

The priorities for the program are to create leaders who can make change for the long-term viability of California agriculture, who will “think forward,” who have the ability to engage and positively influence society, and who can participate in communication networks that enhance California agriculture. CALP has been in operation since 1969 and has more than 1,000 alumni, including such influential leaders as Secretary of Food and Agriculture A.G. Kawamura, Secretary of Resources Mike Chrisman, state senators Mike Machado and Abel Maldonado, U.S. representatives Devin Nunes and George Radanovich, Department of Pesticide Regulation Director Mary-Ann Warmerdam and former Secretary of State Bill Jones.

Class 39 fellows are Jose Aguiar, Indio; Lisa Bodrogi, Santa Maria; Cara Crye, San Luis Obispo; Sara DeForest, Chico; Erin Field, Oxnard; Bryan Foley, Fallbrook; Jonnalee Henderson, Sacramento; Nick Hill, Kingsburg; Josh Huntsinger, Auburn; Joyce Jong, Riverside; Eric Limas, Tipton; Tina Lunt, Sacramento; Dawn Mathes, Aptos; Michael Mendes, Valencia; Cannon Michael, Los Banos; Tyler Morgan, Merced; James Rickert, McArthur; Emily Robidart, Sacramento; John Schaap, Visalia; Tracy Schohr, Sacramento; David Silva, Reedley; Rick Stark, Kingsburg; Peter Vallis, Fresno; Ivor Van Wingerden, Nipomo; Greg Wegis, Buttonwillow.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.