WSSA honors weed scientists

WSSA honors weed scientists

The Weed Science Society of America bestowed its highest honor, fellows, upon weed scientists from Virginia, Indiana and Kansas at its recent annual conference in Hawaii.

The Weed Science Society of America bestowed its highest honor, fellows, upon weed scientists from Virginia, Indiana and Kansas at its recent annual conference in Hawaii.

“These are true innovators from academia, government and private industry who are making a significant mark on our profession through their research, teaching, publishing and outreach,” said Michael Barrett, outgoing WSSA president.

(For more on weed resistance, see: Scientists chastised for growing weed resistance problem)

New WSSA Fellows

Jeffrey Derr, a professor of weed science at Virginia Tech and former president of WSSA. Derr has authored or co-authored 136 papers and 52 refereed journal articles on weed management, made over 775 extension talks and authored 200 articles for newsletters and national trade magazines. He is associate editor for both Weed Science and Weed Technology.

John Jachetta, a regulatory sciences and government affairs leader at Dow AgroSciences, who has championed the development and registration of new herbicides. He is former president of WSSA, founded the FIFRA Endangered Species Task Force and is former chairman of the CropLife America NAFTA Industry Working Group.

Phillip Stahlman, professor and weed science researcher at Kansas State University and a specialist in dry land cropping systems. He has authored or co-authored 70 refereed journal articles and book chapters, more than 450 scientific abstracts, proceedings and research reports and is co-holder of a U.S. patent in the use of bacterial strains in weed control. Recently, Stahlman has been conducting training and establishing demonstration sites in the Republic of Malawi on herbicide use in maize and groundnuts. He is currently president of the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology.

WSSA also honored A. Stanley Culpepper, professor in crop and soil science at the University of Georgia. He is actively involved in weed science extension programs involving cotton, vegetable and small grain weeds, as well as in applied weed management research. He is frequently published and has spoken at nearly 400 county grower meetings throughout Georgia. Culpepper was the first Extension expert to win the EPA’s Montreal Protocol Award for the preservation of the ozone layer.

WSSA honored Gregory MacDonald, professor of weed science and agronomy at the University of Florida. In 2005 MacDonald expanded his weed science courses to include an online format, allowing him to reach students throughout the state of Florida and beyond. His research focuses on the physiology, ecology and management of invasive species, especially perennial grasses and cogongrass.

WSSA recognized Prasanta C. Bhowmik, professor of weed science at the University of Massachusetts — Amherst. His research focuses on weed biology, allelopathy and invasive species, perennial weed control and integrated weed management in field crops and turfgrass. Bhowmik has made more than 500 presentations in 22 countries around the world and has authored numerous peer-reviewed papers, Extension articles, abstracts and reports. He is a WSSA Fellow.

WSSA selected the husband and wife team of Carol and Jerry Baskin for honorary membership in the society. Both are professors at University of Kentucky. Their book Seeds: Ecology, Biogeography, and Evolution of Dormancy and Germination (Academic Press, 1998; paperback, 2001), received the New York Botanical Garden Henry Allan Gleason Award. They also have published more than 450 papers and book chapters.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.