NCC names directors, chairmen

National Cotton Council delegates elected the following to serve as directors and state unit chairmen for 2001. The American Cotton Producers also elected its officers, all at the NCC's 62nd meeting in San Diego.

Elected to the council board during caucuses were:

Producers — Louie Perry Jr., Moultrie, Ga.; Daniel T. Branton, Leland, Miss.; Mark D. Williams, Farwell, Texas; Charles K. Youngker, Buckeye, Ariz.; and Hollis O. Isbell, Muscle Shoals, Ala.

Ginners — Wendell S. Dunaway, Hawkinsville, Ga.; Murry G. McClintock, Tunica, Miss.; Sid Brough, Edroy, Texas; Charles C. Owen, Pima, Ariz.; and Richard Bransford, Lonoke, Ark.

Warehousemen — Carl W. Nelson Jr., Selma, Ala.; Neill M. Sloan, Portland, Ark.; Ron Harkey, Lubbock, Texas; H. J. Weathersby, Memphis, Tenn.; and E. Bragg Smith III, Dallas, Texas.

Merchants — William C. Covington, Richardson, Texas; W. B. Dunavant, III, Memphis, Tenn.; Peter Egli, Phoenix, Ariz.; Gerald C. Marshall, Cordova, Tenn.; and Joseph Walker II, Columbia, S.C.

Crushers — Sammy Wright, Valdosta, Ga.; George H. Dunklin, Pine Bluff, Ark.; Hollis G. Sullivan, Harlingen, Texas; Ryoichi Kondo, Chandler, Ariz.; and Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas.

Cooperatives — Mike Quinn, Raleigh, N.C.; Woods E. Eastland, Greenwood, Miss.; David Stanford, Lubbock, Texas; Robert W. Norris, Bakersfield, Calif.; and David L. Hand, El Paso, Texas.

Manufacturers — Roger W. Chastain, Greenville, S.C.; George R. Herron, Danville, Va.; G. Stephen Felker, Monroe, Ga.; Jerry D. Rowland, Winston-Salem, N.C.; and D. Harding Stowe, Belmont, N.C.

The American Cotton Producers, meanwhile, re-elected Isbell, a producer from Muscle Shoals, Ala., chairman for 2001.

Thad Freeland, Tillar, Ark., was elected a vice chairman. John H. Pucheu Jr., Tranquillity, Calif., and Woody Anderson, Colorado City, Texas, were re-elected vice chairmen.

Elected state producer chairmen were: Laudies Brantley, England; Ark.; Steve Droke, Hornersville, Mo., (for Illinois and Missouri); Bob Mayberry, Lake Arthur, N.M.; and John Willis, Brownsville, Tenn., (for Kentucky and Tennessee).

Re-elected state producer chairmen were: Sam Spruell, Mt. Hope, Ala.; Larry W. Jarnigan, Phoenix; Ariz.; Don Cameron, Helm, Calif.; B. E. “Sonny” Davis, Cottondale, Fla.; C. B. “Chuck” Coley, Vienna, Ga.; Jay Hardwick, Newellton, La.; Bowen Flowers, Tunica, Miss.; David Grant, Garysburg, N.C.; Daniel M. Davis, Elk City, Okla.; Frank B. Rogers, III, Bennettsville, S.C.; Jim Ed Miller, Ft. Hancock, Texas; and Cecil R. Byrum, Windsor, Va.

Among chairmen, vice-chairmen and secretaries of the state units named at the annual meeting were:

Arizona: Roger Hooper, producer, Casa Grande; Charles K. “Chuck” Youngker, producer, Buckeye; and Charles C. Owen, ginner, Pima.

California: David A. Alderete, ginner, Bakersfield; Robert W. Norris, cooperative, Bakersfield; and Tom Teixeira, producer, Dos Palos.

E-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.